2011-12 Art News

Allison Henke Award Allison Henke Awarded the Spitznagel Award

Friday, April 20, 2012

Senior art major Allison Henke (Luverne, Minn.) has been awarded the prestigious Harold Spitznagel Medal for Achievement in Art, the highest award presented by the Augustana Art Department to student-artists who demonstrate the highest standards of excellence in all their artistic endeavors throughout their Augustana careers. The award, which was presented during the opening reception for the 2012 Senior Art Show in the Eide/Dalrymple Gallery, is only bestowed occasionally and has not been given since 2007.

Senior Art Show 2012Augustana Senior Show

Graduating art students at Augustana College presented their Senior Show at the Eide/Dalrymple Gallery. The exhibit featured a wide variety of works including ceramics, sculptures, printmaking, paintings, drawings, digital photography and graphic design.

The 11 graduating artists are: Silje Christine Bøe (Bodø, Norway), Regina Brunz (Sioux Falls, S.D.), Allison Henke (Northfield, Minn.), Cody Nesbitt (Alta, Iowa), Diana Ogden (Sioux Falls, S.D.), Samantha Perry (Sioux Falls, S.D.), Katrin Profilet (Sioux Falls, S.D.), Laura Thompson (Sioux Falls, S.D.), Kathryn Van Duynhoven (Mankato, Minn.), Lori Witte (Luverne, Minn.), and Sarah Zobrist (Brandon, S.D.).

Exhibit Features Augustana Student-Artists

Works by five Augustana students were featured in the Washington Pavilion "University Invitational 2011" an exhibition displayed inside the Pavilion's Everist Gallery.

The exhibit featured artwork created by undergraduate and graduate students from colleges and universities throughout South Dakota, including the following Augustana student-artists:

  • Regina Brunz '12, Sioux Falls
  • Allison Henke '12, Northfield, Minn.
  • Sarah Karlstad '13, Tea, S.D.
  • Katie Van Duynhoven '12, Mankato, Minn.
  • Sarah Zobrist '12, Brandon, S.D.