Presidents of the College

Through Augustana's (now more than) 150-year history, 22 individuals have served as the College president (for 23 terms). 

Learn more about the Presidents and their 23 terms.

Some interesting facts follow about the people who occupied the office:

  • All but one of the presidents was either an ordained Lutheran clergyman or possessed an academic background. The current president — Rob Oliver —  came from a business background (banking). 
  • Dr. Sidney Rand served two one-year terms.
  • Rev. Anthony Tuve served the longest at 26 years and was the youngest (26 years old) when he started. Dr. Lawrence Stavig was in office for 22 years. 
  • President Preus possessed a law degree.
  • Dr. Ralph Wagoner was a sitting president at a public university, having previously served for six years at Western Illinois University.
  • And, only one — Dr. Bruce Halverson — is an alumnus.

By hovering over the image with your mouse cursor, the name of the president of that era will appear. By clicking the photo, you are able to see the caption and navigate through the photos.