2016 Lee Piano Festival

Lee Piano Festival at Augustana University

The 2016 Augustana University Lee Piano Festival is Feb. 4-6, 2016, with auditions for Augustana University ProMusica Piano Scholarship.

The Lee Legacy
The Augustana University Lee Piano Festival is funded through the generous gifts of Karl O. Lee and his mother, Agnes Lee. The late J. Earl Lee and his deceased wife Clara Lee were two esteemed Augustana professors emeritus — of music and speech (respectively).

J. Earl Lee was a professor of music from 1931 to 1991, serving as chair of the music department for 20 years. Clara Lee was a professor of speech from 1952 to 1991. J. Earl helped found the Sioux Falls Community Concert Association in 1935. In 1958, Clara Lee was chosen Debate Coach of the Year by a national speech honorary society.

Augustana University is ever grateful for this support and for the lasting recognition given to the legacy of J. Earl Lee and Clara Lee.

A guest artist recital on Friday, Feb. 5, will feature Dr. Stephen Beus, Concert Pianist and Professor of Piano at the University of Oklahoma.

All events are free and open to all teachers, students and the general public.

The three-day celebration of the piano takes place in the Humanities building on the Augustana University Campus. Each day presents unique opportunities for learning, listening, and participation to music teachers and piano students, concluding with a day centered on pre-collegiate students, where participation by high school seniors (performance of repertoire) will count as an Augustana University ProMusica audition.

Festival Schedule

Thursday, Feb. 4  A Day for Area Piano Teachers

  • 9:00-9:30 Enjoy coffee, and meet and greet guest artist, Stephen Beus
  • 9:30-10:00  SDMTA Business Meeting
  • 10:00-11:30 Dr. Stephen Beus presentation for music teachers  "What's in a Hairpin?  Examining the Aspects of Musical Notation."
  • 11:30-1:00 p.m. Luncheon*
  • 1:00-2:30 p.m. Painting Imagery in Maurice Ravel’s Gaspard de la Nuit, a lecture recital by Dr. Rick Andrews.
  • 3:00-3:50 p.m. Dr. Stephen Beus presentation for Augustana music students
  • 7:30 p.m. Chamber Music Recital featuring Dr. Shu Li and Marilyn Schemmp along with Eunho Kim, Kaaren Melik-Stepanov.

Friday, Feb. 5  A day for Augustana Music Students

  •  Mini lessons for Augustana students with Stephen Beus
  • 10:00-12:00 p.m. College Advanced Piano Master Class with Stephen Beus and selected students
  • 7:30 p.m. Guest Artist Recital, Dr. Stephen Beus   Concert is FREE and the public is invited!  Featuring works by Mendelssohn, Liszt, and Barber.

Saturday, Feb. 6  A Day for Pre-Collegiate Students with Augustana Faculty and Augustana ProMusica Audition for High School Seniors **

Workshops, Lessons and Master Class  for pre-collegiate students (grades 8-12)

9:00      Exploring Other Keyboard Instruments — In this session you will have the opportunity to see how other keyboard instruments compare to the piano--how they are similar and how they are different. Bring your early piano music and experience playing the organ, harpsichord, and clavichord. Marilyn Schemp

10:00    The Essential Elements of Producing Good Tone on Piano — The workshop will primarily focus on one of the fundamental issues of practicing piano, that is how to produce the good sound on  piano. It features the demonstration of piano mechanism, the relations between piano touch and tone quality, as well how piano tone influenced by various music styles and composers, etc. Dr. Shu Li

11:00    Piano Maestro — This is a wonderful, free app that students can use for additional repertoire and sight-reading materials. It includes fun accompaniments to pieces, a metronome to help work on steady rhythms, method books, popular music, holiday music, and even fun suggestions to help with technique exercises such as scales and arpeggios. Marilyn Schempp

12:00    Lunch is served

1:00    Piano Master Class and Pro Musica Scholarship Auditions — Any student is able to perform their repertoire and receive instruction on stage in front of the audience. Students will learn from performing, but also from observing other performers. Those students (senior level) interested in competing for a Pro Musica Scholarhip of up to $5000 must have been admitted to the University prior to February 1 to be considered. Your participation in the Master Class will be considered your audition for these prestigous awards.  Dr. Rick Andrews

3:00 onward    Lessons with Augustana Piano Faculty — Upon request, high school juniors and seniors may have a private session with one of the Augustana University Piano Faculty.


  • All events are free and open to all teachers, students, and the general public.
  • *The luncheon for teachers is provided by Augustana University, pending reservation.  
  • **Open to all pre-collegiate students, grades 8 through 12.
  •  To reserve for the music teachers luncheon, or to register for the day for pre-collegiate students, contact Dr. Rick Andrews, Director of Keyboard, Augustana University.


Stephen-BeusGuest Artist

A guest artist recital featuring Dr. Stephen Beus, concert pianist and professor of piano at the University of Oklahoma, will be held at 7:30 p.m. on Friday, Feb. 5.

Dr. Beus holds degrees from Whitman College, The Juilliard School, and Stony Brook University, where his teachers have included Leonard Richter, Robert McDonald, Gilbert Kalish and Christina Dahl. He has recorded on the Endeavor Classics and Harmonia Mundi labels. Stephen Beus is a Steinway Artist and currently teaches at the University of Oklahoma.

Contact for Further Information

If you have any additional questions or comments concerning the Lee Piano Festival, please contact the competition director.

Dr. Rick Andrews
Department of Music
Augustana University
2001 S. Summit Avenue
Sioux Falls, SD 57197