Board and National Advisory Council Members

April 2013 Meeting of CWS Board and National Advisory Council

Members of the CWS Board and National Advisory Council at their joint annual meeting in April of 2013.

The Board of Directors is the governing body of the Center. Following the guidelines established by the Center for Western Studies Constitution, the Board consists of up to 24 members appointed by the President of Augustana University. Seven members are chosen from the faculty of Augustana University and thirteen from the Sioux Falls community and surrounding area. Members serve three-year terms with a maximum of two full consecutive terms. The President of Augustana University, the Vice-President for Academic Services, the Director of Mikkelsen Library, and the Executive Director of the Center serve as ex-officio members of the Board.

The National Advisory Council exists to advise the directors of the Center and promote the Center's interests. The Council consists of up to 30 members invited to serve by the President of Augustana University upon the recommendation of the Board of Directors. Members serve five-year terms with no limits as to reappointment.


Board of Directors


  • Mr. Stan Christopherson, Chair
  • Mr. Charles T. Wise, Vice Chair
  • Dr. Joseph Dondelinger, Recording Secretary
  • Dr. Margaret Preston, Vice Recording Secretary
  • Mr. Tony Haga, Immediate Past Chair


  • Mr. Lynn Aspaas - Sioux Falls
  • Dr. Mary Brendtro - Crooks, SD
  • Mr. Ron P. Christensen - Sioux Falls
  • Mr. Stan Christopherson - Sioux Falls
  • Mr. Gary L. Conradi - Sioux Falls
  • Dr. Joseph Dondelinger - Sioux Falls
  • Mr. Wayne Fanebust - Sioux Falls
  • Mr. Tony Haga - Edgerton, MN
  • Mr. Jason Harris - Sioux Falls
  • Dr. Patrick Hicks - Sioux Falls
  • Mrs. Judith Howard - Centerville, SD
  • Dr. Jerry Jorgensen - Brookings, SD
  • Mrs. Gerry Berger Law - Clear Lake, SD
  • Mr. Richard Muller - Vermillion, SD
  • Mr. Martin Oyos - Sioux Falls
  • Dr. Margaret Preston - Sioux Falls
  • President Stephanie Herseth Sandlin - Sioux Falls
  • Mr. Darwin Sletten - Sioux Falls
  • Ms. Ann Smith - Sioux Falls
  • Ms. Rebecca Sunde - Sioux Falls
  • Dr. Harry F. Thompson - Sioux Falls
  • Mrs. Ronelle Thompson - Sioux Falls
  • Mr. Blair Tremere - Sioux Falls
  • Dr. Arlen Viste - Sioux Falls
  • Mr. Charles T. Wise - Sioux Falls


CWS National Advisory Council

  • Dr. Arthur Amiotte - Custer, SD
  • Mr. L.M. Baylor - Rapid City, SD
  • Ms. Christel Gollnick - Trimble, MO
  • Mr. Richard Haase - Hartford, SD
  • Mr. Jeffrey W. Hayzlett - Brandon, SD
  • Mr. Mark Hollabaugh - St. Paul, MN
  • Dr. Herbert Hoover - Elk Point, SD
  • Mr. Howard Hovland - Sioux Falls, SD
  • Dr. Jeffrey Johnson - Providence, RI
  • Mr. L. H. "Rick" Kolkman - Omaha, NE
  • Dr. Jon Lauck - Sioux Falls
  • Dr. John E. Miller - Brookings, SD
  • Mr. Donald F. Montileaux - Rapid City, SD
  • Mr. Larry Ness - Yankton, SD
  • Dr. Jerry Simmons - Sioux Falls
  • Mrs. Virginia Driving Hawk Sneve - Rapid City, SD
  • Mr. David Solberg - Billings, MT