Eric Wells
Department Chair
GSC 208

Marlys Vant Hul
Administrative Assistant
GSC 246a

Physics Department News Archive

October 2, 2008

Mello awarded NIH Fellowship

SIOUX FALLS - Ryan Mello, class of 2006, has been awarded a pre-doctoral fellowship by the National Institutes of Health through the Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award program.

A native of Casper, Wyo., Mello received his bachelor’s degree in physics from Augustana and is currently working on his PhD in Medical Physics at the University of Minnesota. His research work focus on using electron paramagnetic resonance (EPR) spectroscopy to study structural changes in myosin (a class of proteins that control muscle contraction) due to aging. This work involves adapting the EPR spectroscopy for use in examining muscle fibers.

Established by the National Research Service Award Act of 1974, these programs were conceived to train investigators and channel them explicitly to those fields in which there was an identified need for biomedical and behavioral research personnel.

Back to Physics News Archive



Augie homepage
Augie library

For questions/comments,
contact the webmaster

©  2014
Augustana College Physics Department

Department of Physics
Augustana College
2001 S Summit Ave
Sioux Falls, SD 57197
Phone: 605 274 4710
Fax: 605 274 4492