April 2: Recital to Feature String Quartet, Rawlins Trio

Event Details

Date: April 1, 2012

Times: 7:30 p.m.

Location: Kresge Recital Hall

Ticket Info: $5 for the general public | Free for Augustana students and faculty, and students K-12 with a valid ID | www.augietickets.com

The Augustana String Quartet and the Rawlins Trio will perform a joint chamber music recital at 7:30 p.m. on Monday, April 2, in Kresge Recital Hall.

The concert will open with two pieces by the String Quartet, "Langsamer Satz" by Anton Webern and Sergei Prokofiev's String Quartet no. 2 in F major, Op. 92, and close with the Rawlins Trio's performance of Mendelssohn's Piano Trio No. 2 in C minor, Op. 66.

Tickets are $5 for adults and free for Augustana students, faculty, and students K-12 with a valid ID. To purchase tickets visit augietickets.com or call the Box Office at 605.274.5320.

About the Augustana String Quartet

In a groundbreaking collaboration, Augustana College and the South Dakota Symphony Orchestra partnered to support the Augustana String Quartet, the only professional string quartet in residence at a college in the region. The members of the Quartet serve as associate principals in their respective sections in the Symphony and as adjunct teaching faculty for Augustana College, with special emphasis on recruiting student musicians for Augustana's string program. The Augustana String Quartet performs up to 130 different outreach programs per year with the South Dakota Symphony Orchestra and the Augustana Orchestra, as well as for special engagements in schools and college and community functions.

The members of the Augustana String Quartet are Christian Zamora, violin, Justyna Lutow-Resch, violin, Kathryn Hufnagle, cello, and Tyler Sieh, viola.

About the Rawlins Trio

Since its founding in 1987, the Rawlins Piano Trio has distinguished itself as a dynamic group of performers, teachers and scholars. Touring regularly throughout the United States and abroad — most recently in Taiwan and Panama — the artists combine school visits and master classes with performances in a variety of concert venues. Their repertoire is equally diverse, ranging from the standard repertoire to new and undiscovered works deserving to be brought into the limelight.

The members of the Trio are Eunho Kim, violin, Marie-Elaine Gagnon, cello, and Susan Keith Gray, piano, all of whom are on the faculty of The University of South Dakota Department of Music. The ensemble is named in honor of Marjorie Rawlins and the late Robert Rawlins, its principal benefactors and graduates of The University of South Dakota in the 1940s.