Theatre: 1940's Radio Hour

Event Details

Date: November 18 - November 21, 2015

Times: 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, Nov. 18 - Saturday, Nov. 21; 2:30 p.m. matinée Sunday, Nov. 22

Location: Edith Mortenson Center Theatre

Ticket Info: Tickets are $15 for adults; $10 for seniors (65+); free for students K-12 and those with a valid Augie ID.

Buy Tickets

The Augustana Performing and Visual Arts will present the musical “1940's Radio Hour" on Nov. 18 - Nov. 22 in the Edith Mortenson Center Theatre.

Tickets are $15 for adults, $10 for seniors (65+), and are free for students K-12 and those with a valid Augie ID. Tickets can be purchased online at or by calling the Box Office at 605.274.5320.

"1940's Radio Hour" is a musical by Walton Jones. Full of 1940's music, dancing and old-time sound effects the play portrays the final holiday broadcast of the Mutual Manhattan Variety Cavalcade on the New York radio station WOV in December 1942. The station takes to the air at the beginning of World War II, this time to record a broadcast for the troops overseas. The narrative concerns the harassed producer whose leading singer is often drunk, the delivery boy who wants a chance in front of the mike, the second banana who dreams of singing a ballad, and the trumpet-playing sound effects man who chooses a fighter plan over Glenn Miller.

The musical was first performed at the St. James Theatre in October 1979.