Northlanders selected for Sioux Falls Jazz Fest performance

SIOUX FALLS – The Augustana College Northlanders Jazz Band will perform at the 2009 Sioux Falls Jazz Festival July 17-18 at Yankton Trail Park.

The 19-member jazz ensemble under the direction of Dr. Paul Schilf, assistant professor of music, is scheduled to perform on the main stage at 3:00 p.m. Saturday, July 18. The annual event attracts more than 65,000 people.

In recent years the Northlanders have experienced increased notoriety. In 2006, the ensemble played for the Minnesota Music Education Conference in Minneapolis, and performed on the second stage at the Sioux Falls Jazz Festival. In 2007, the ensemble advanced to the Jazz Festival’s main stage.

For the last eight years the Northlanders performed with the highest quality jazz artists at Augustana’s Jazz on the Upper Great Plains Festival. Over the past six years, the band and Dr. Schilf have commissioned six big band charts. This new jazz music is available through Sierra Publications and Kendor Music.

At the 2009 Sioux Falls Jazz Festival, the Northlanders will feature Selmer saxophone recording artist, Mr. Chris Vadala, and Yamaha recording artist Jeff Jarvis.

For his special appearance at the Sioux Falls Jazz Festival with the Northlanders, Mr. Jarvis has been commissioned to write a special feature number for the band. This new selection will be performed at the festival and published by Kendor Music in the fall of 2009.

The Northlanders Jazz Band roster:

Chris Borchardt, ’12, Sioux Falls (Alto I)
Katie Olson, ’10, Lake Mills, IA (Alto II)
Katie Doohan, ’09, Sioux Falls, SD (Tenor I)
Meredith Reynolds, ’12, Sioux Falls, SD (Tenor II)
Chris Haak, ’11, Urbandale, IA (Baritone)

Jason Roseth, ’11, Watertown, SD
Allyson Wingert, ’12, Sioux Falls, SD
Adam Broin, ’09, Sioux Falls, SD
Amanda Schnepel, ’10, Treynor, IA

Corey Meyer, ’12, Merrill, WI

Luke Tatge, ’09, Benson, MN       
Rachel McAllister, ’09, Cottage Grove, MN
Steven Dockendorf, ’12, Oakdale, MN
Christine Anderson, ’09, Waverly, IA
Lizzy Reid, ’11, Brandon, SD

Laura Ayres, ’11, Spirit Lake, IA

Josh Lund, ’11, Omaha, NE
Chris Vogele, ’11, Sioux Falls, SD

Spencer Ferrell, ’11, Yankton, SD

Bruce Conley
Director of News Information
Phone: 605.274.5526
Fax: 605.274.4903