Olson, Odney, Harvey Award Winners Announced

SIOUX FALLS – Mark Meile, Wendell Elliott , and Pam Gohl will be honored at the 2009 Augustana Athletic Hall of Fame Banquet during Viking Days 2009.

Meile, coordinator of athletics/physical education for the Sioux Falls Public Schools, will receive the Lefty Olson Award. Elliott, owner of Elliott and Anderson Flooring in Sioux Falls, is the recipient of the Milt and Clara Harvey Award. And Gohl, who graduated from Augustana in 1999 and is the head women’s basketball coach at Minnesota State University, Mankato, receives the Ole Odney Award.

Mark MeileMark Meile — Among Meile’s numerous responsibilities is coordinating events at Howard Wood Field and his presence has been a valuable asset to Augustana football and track and field. Said Augustana Athletic Director Bill Gross, “Over the years, Mark has gone above and beyond all expectations in the cooperation he provided to Augustana as we played our home football games at Howard Wood Field. Augustana football players, coaches, administrators, and fans have been fortunate to have a person like Mark, who we could always count on for his attention to detail and pride in his work.” The Lefty Olson Award was renamed in 1993 as a lifetime service and achievement award for athletics and/or athletic administration. It is named in honor of L.A. “Lefty” Olson who coached and taught at Augustana from 1931-1968.

Pam GohlPam Gohl — In her one season as the “interim head coach,” Gohl guided Minnesota State University, Mankato to its first national championship in women’s basketball. With Gohl at the helm, the Mavericks compiled a 32-2 record, were ranked No. 1 in the country for two weeks, and corralled their first conference championship since 1985-86. Gohl’s club won the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference championship with a 19-1 record and she was named the league’s Coach of the Year. She was also named the 2009 Molten/Women’s Division II Bulletin Coach of the Year following the Mavericks’ 103-94 win over Franklin Pierce in the highest scoring final in NCAA Division II women’s basketball history. The Ole Odney Award, formerly known as the Alumni Coach of the Year Award, was renamed in 1993. Odney was a teacher/coach at Augustana from 1948-1966.

Wendell ElliottWendell Elliott — Elliott is among Augustana’s most generous and loyal fans. He closely follows the fortunes of Augustana basketball and football by attending most home games, but he also provides financial support for the College’s entire athletic program. As far back as records are available, he has been a member of the Augustana Athletic Club, formerly the Booster Club. In 2003 he gave a major capital gift to the Elmen Center Enhancement Project. He has also provided flooring surfaces for numerous athletic projects both in the Elmen Center and the former football field house at 37th Street and Lake Avenue. The Harvey Award debuted in 1993 as a way of honoring outstanding contributions of time, service, and financial support to Augustana Athletics. It is named in honor of Clara and Milt Harvey, former employees of the College.

Bruce Conley
Director, News Information
Phone: 605.274.5526
Fax: 605.274.4903