Alumna receives Faculty Excellence Award

SIOUX FALLS, SD – Alumna Sharlene Georgesen, assistant professor of nursing at Morningside College in Sioux City, Iowa, is one of three Morningside faculty members to receive the 2009 Sharon Walker Faculty Excellence Award.

Morningside President John Reynders presented the awards during the annual faculty banquet. Georgesen, who graduated from Augustana in 1986, receives a $10,000 honorarium and $3,000 to use for faculty development.

The Sharon Walker Faculty Excellence Awards are funded by a gift from Morningside alumni Jim and Sharon Walker of Wayzata, Minn.

Criteria for selection include teaching excellence, effective advising, scholarship, and service to Morningside College. The awards are based on the accomplishments and activities of a faculty member during the previous academic year.

Georgesen has been teaching in various capacities in Morningside’s nursing department since 2000. She earned her master’s degree in nursing from the University of Missouri-Columbia in 1992.

The Walker Award evaluators commended Georgesen “for her outstanding achievement in training nurses, but more importantly providing outstanding education in the liberal arts to Morningside students.”

Bruce Conley
Director, News Information
Phone: 605.274.5526
Fax: 605.274.4903