Augustana Public Relations Students Win Classics Award

SIOUX FALLS, SD - Augustana’s Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) won the Minnesota Public Relations Society of America (MPRSA) Student Classics Award for the third time at the 32nd Annual MPRSA Classics Award Banquet and Ceremony held in Minneapolis.

Augustana’s win came in the New Media/Technology category. Students utilized what they learned during the PRSSA Social Media Workshop in the fall of 2009 and applied it to blogging, Twitter, and website design for the Sioux Empire Adoption Fair.

Augustana students pictured are, from left, Samantha Sheffield (Beresford, SD), Rachael Nelson (Bismarck, ND), Megan Brandsrud (Watertown, SD), Joy Lussenden (Redwood Falls, MN), Karise Stillson (Spearfish, SD), and Rachel Gerber (Moorhead, MN). Not pictured, Karrie Morgan (Valentine, NE).

It was Augustana’s third win in the last four years. Augustana PRSSA students won in 2007 and 2009 for work on the Adoption Fair and Special Olympics Polar Plunge. Augustana was also a finalist this year for its work with Lutheran Social Services.

The Classics Awards honor the work of students and professionals in the field of public relations. Students compete against their counterparts from schools across the Upper Midwest.

While in Minneapolis, Augustana students also visited with public relations professionals from the Minnesota Twins, Frito Lay, United Way and major firms such as Padilla Speer Beardsley (home of Augustana alumnus, John Beardsley ’61). PRSSA is open to all students.

“I cannot be more proud of these students. They work hard and are great professional ambassadors for Augustana College,” said Dr. Michael Nitz, associate professor of communications studies.

Minnesota PRSA is the tenth-largest chapter of the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA), the world’s largest organization for public relations professionals with nearly 32,000 professional and student members. PRSA is organized into more than 110 chapters nationwide, including 19 professional interest sections and affinity groups. Minnesota PRSA is comprised of more than 350 members who represent business and industry, counseling firms, independent practitioners, military, government, associations, hospitals, schools, professional services firms and nonprofit organizations.

Sponsored by the Minnesota chapter of PRSA, this year’s Minnesota PRSA Classics Awards honored the best in the public relations field. Since 1978, the Minnesota PRSA Classics Awards have recognized hundreds of organizations for excellence in public relations. The Classics are presented annually to public relations practitioners who, in the judgment of their peers, have successfully addressed a communications challenge with exemplary professional skill, creativity and resourcefulness.

Dr. Michael Nitz
Associate Professor, Communication Studies
Phone: 605.274.5474