Three from Augustana Nominated for YWCA Awards

SIOUX FALLS, SD – Three women from Augustana are among the 54 nominees for the YWCA Tribute to Women Awards.

Dr. Julie Ashworth, assistant professor of Education; Jamie Horter, a senior from Bristol, S.D., majoring in art and chemistry, and Joyce Stuelpnagel Nelson, retired professor of Nursing, are the nominees from Augustana.

The YWCA Tribute to Women awards program is an inspirational and exciting celebration of talent, achievement, imagination, and innovation honoring local women who have made an exemplary contribution in the workplace and in the community.

The program’s 35th anniversary celebration is scheduled for Thursday, March 25 from 5:00 to 8:00 the Washington Pavilion. This special evening will honor 54 women in the categories of banking and finance, education, executive leadership, healthcare and science, nonprofit and human services, professions, sales and marketing, Sylvia Henkin Mentoring Award and Tomorrow’s Leader.

Ashworth was named Sioux Falls School District Teacher of the Year in 1992, and the South Dakota Teacher of the Year in 1993. She came to Augustana in 2002 and in 2009 received the Vernon and Mildred Niebuhr Faculty Excellence Award.

Horter is the recipient of the Augustana Covenant Award for Liberal Arts. She is the president of Augie Green, the environmental student group on campus, and a member of the Augustana Coalition for Social Justice.

Nelson arrived at Augustana in 1967 as an assistant professor in nursing. She prepared future nurses for 29 years in Augustana’s classrooms. Today, every hospital in the region has benefitted from the talent and skill of nurses mentored by Nelson.

Bruce Conley
Director, News Information
Phone: 605.274.5526
Fax: 605.274.4903