Sioux Falls Junior Elected President of ASA

SIOUX FALLS, SD – Joel Thompson, a junior from Sioux Falls, has been elected president of the Augustana Student Association (ASA) for the 2010-2011 academic year.

The election was held Wednesday, April 21. An inauguration service will be held Monday, May 3, at 10:00 a.m. in the Chapel of Reconciliation.

Thompson is majoring in business administration and government/international affairs. He is the son of Dr. Vance and Jana Thompson of Sioux Falls.

Pictured from left are: Drew Doshier, Joel Thompson, and Derek True

Drew Doshier, a sophomore from Rapid City, S.D., was elected vice-president. He is majoring in economics and mathematics. He is the son of Barbara and Steve Doshier of Rapid City.

The nod for treasurer went to Derek True, a sophomore from Fairmont, Minn. He is majoring in economics and government/international affairs. He is the son of Ruth and Robert True of Fairmont.

Serving as senior class senators are Krista Froke, a junior from Vermillion, S.D.; Maisie Eickhoff, a junior from Fordyce, Neb.; Kelsey Wolter, a junior from Webster, S.D.; Colin Richards, a junior from Le Mars, Iowa; and Kenan Tokmic, a junior from Sioux Falls.

The junior class senators are Jake Bury, a sophomore from Sioux Falls; Casey Ortbahn, a sophomore from Pierre, S.D.; Jessica Haugo, a sophomore from Waubun, Minn.; Sawyer Vanden Heuvel, a sophomore from Rock Rapids, Iowa; and Erik Nyberg, a sophomore from Sioux Falls.

Senators representing the sophomore class are Kelly Wong, a freshman from Custer, S.D.; Adam Jorde, a freshman from Cando, N.D.; Thad Titze, a freshman from Watertown, S.D.; Maren Engel, a freshman from Owasso, Okla.; and Joe Meader, a freshman from Sioux Falls.

ASA is the voice of the student body with membership including all full-time and part-time students. ASA works in cooperation with the College’s Board of Trustees, administration, faculty, and staff to confront issues from academic accreditation, and policy development, to buildings and grounds. ASA manages a substantial annual budget while also overseeing major on-campus programming organizations involving concerts, lectures, entertainment, and homecoming.

Bruce Conley
Director, News Information
Phone: 605.274.5526
Fax: 605.274.4903