Modern Foreign Languages Majors Excel

As the academic year comes to an end, the Department of Modern Foreign Languages announces multiple student awards and honors, including academic achievement awards and induction into honor societies.

Department of Modern Foreign Languages Honors Nine Students

MDFL Department HonorsSIOUX FALLS, SD – Nine Augustana students received Department Honors during an awards ceremony hosted by the Department of Modern Foreign Languages (DMFL).

Samuel Eisele (Sioux Falls), Andrew Erickson (Sioux Falls), Clara Fisher (Sioux Falls), Melanie Henry (Minneapolis, MN), Chris Johnson (Sioux Falls), Stacy LaVoy (Tracy, MN), Zachary Morris (Sioux Falls), Jacinta Sutphin (Worden, MT), and Michael Swanson (Britton, SD) were recognized for high overall and foreign language grade point averages, and for the superior quality of their senior research projects.

The students were cited by faculty members Dr. Stephan Lhotzky, Dr. Scott Fish, and Professor Elizabeth Herman. This is the first year the DMFL has bestowed department honors.

Clara Fisher also received multiple awards and a fellowship from Vanderbilt University as she continues her education in graduate school. In addition to full tuition and health insurance Fisher will receive a base stipend of $15,150, plus a Max Kade Fellowship of $7,500 and a Provost Award of $10,000.


Six Students Inducted into French National Honor Society

Pi Delta Phi - French Honor SocietySIOUX FALLS, SD – Six students of French were inducted into Augustana’s Mu Alpha Chapter of Pi Delta Phi, the French National Honor Society, during a spring ceremony.

Clara Fisher (Sioux Falls), Magan Hasche (Sioux Falls), Tyler Maybee (Centennial, CO), Karissa Pepin (Lake Elmo, MN), Jacinta Sutphin (Worden, MT), and Kirsten Wollman (Sioux Falls) were recognized for excellence and achievement in the French Language, and Francophone cultures and literatures.

A banquet honoring the new members and graduating French majors included a research presentation by senior Kelsey Ott (Sioux Falls).

Mu Alpha’s faculty advisor is Dr. Scott Fish.


Two Students Inducted into German National Honor Society

Delta Phi Alpha - German National Honor SocietySIOUX FALLS, SD – Alexander Buffie (Greenfield, MN) and Jacinta Sutphin (Worden, MT) were inducted into Augustana College’s Eta Delta Chapter of Delta Phi Alpha, the German National Honor Society, at the organization’s annual ceremony and banquet.

Buffie and Sutphin were recognized for excellence and achievement in the German language, and in Germanic cultures and literatures. The program included senior research projects by Clara Fisher (Sioux Falls), Melanie Henry (Minneapolis, MN), Zachary Morris (Sioux Falls) and Michael Swanson (Britton, SD).

Eta Delta’s faculty advisor is Dr. Stephan Lhotzky.

Bruce Conley
Director, News Information
Phone: 605.274.5526
Fax: 605.274.4903