Augustana Theatre Set to Go 'Into the Woods' Nov. 17-21

The Augustana Theatre and Music Departments will present the Tony Award-winning Into the Woods at the on-campus Edith Mortenson Center Theatre Nov. 17-21.

An ambivalent Cinderella? A blood-thirsty Little Red Ridinghood? A Prince Charming with a roving eye? A Witch, who raps? They're all among the cockeyed characters in James Lapine and Stephen Sondheim's fractured fairy tale. When a Baker and his wife learn they've been cursed with childlessness by the Witch next door, they embark on a quest for the special objects required to break the spell. Along the way, they swindle, lie and steal from Cinderella, Little Red Riding Hood, Rapunzel and Jack (yes, the one who climbed the beanstalk). Everyone's wishes are granted at the end of Act One, but the consequences of their actions return to haunt them later, with disastrous results. Into the Woods asks the question: “Do we really want all of our wishes fulfilled?”

Into the Woods won several Tony awards in 1987 including Best Score and Best Book.

Tickets are available online at and are $12 for adults and $8 for seniors. Admission is free to students with valid Augustana ID.

Performances are in the on-campus Edith Mortenson Center Theatre Nov.17-20 at 7:30 p.m. and Nov. 20-21 at 2:30 p.m. The performance on Thursday, Nov. 18, will be interpreted for the deaf and hard-of-hearing.

Into the Woods is directed by Dan Workman and includes the following student-castmembers: Callie Berg (Northwood, N.D.); Martha Stai (Inwood, Iowa); Rachel Hoogendoorn (Sioux Falls, S.D.); Glynnis Kunkle (North Mankato, Minn.); Shelly Hubbling (Saint Paul, Minn.); Katharine Demke (Bismarck, N.D.); Kayla Straub (Ashland, Mo.); Maren Engle (Owasso, Okla.); Katie Foiles (Brookings, S.D.); Leah Hilsabeck (Milford, Iowa); Ali Hoffman (Sioux Falls, S.D.); Katelyn Kenney (Box Elder, S.D.); Keanna Casanova Dyce (Sioux Falls, S.D.); Mariya Swella (Yucca Valley, Calif.); Grant Hooyer (Sioux Falls, S.D.); Nate Hults (Glenco, Minn.); Adam Jorde (Cando, N.D.); Josh Thies (Sioux Falls, S.D.); Ben Winkler (Cottage Grove, Minn.); Jared Mitchel (Welch, Minn.); Matt Hugen (Sioux City, Iowa); Bryan Okerlund (Sauk Centre, Minn.,); and Matt Cook (Adrian, Minn.).

Kelly Sprecher
Director of Communications & Media Relations