Riddle, Brooks Win Augie Pride Awards

Associate Dean of Students Tracy Riddle and Office of Admission Coordinator Marsha Brooks received “Augie Pride” awards at the Augustana Service Awards Presentation and Celebration yesterday.

The “Augie Pride” award recognizes exceptional service. Since 1999, 16 “Augie Pride” awards have been presented.

Since assuming her position in 1990, Riddle has been charged with leading the College's residence life program. She also works with Dining Services, Volunteer Services and Campus Safety (security) programs.

Brooks joined Augustana in 1986 and is responsible for coordinating documents and correspondence for students and parents related to the college admission process.

The event also honored members of the Augustana community who will retire after this academic year:

  • Dr. Joan Bacon, associate professor of Education
  • Dr. Margot Nelson, professor of Nursing
  • Dr. Michael Nedelsky, associate professor of Psychology
  • Dr. Val Olness, associate professor of Biology and Science Education
  • Peg Jorgensen, Buildings and Grounds
  • Bob Lewis, Telecommunications
  • Carole Jensen, Student Services

Milestone service awards were also presented:


  • Beth Boyens, English/Jounalism
  • Patty Eiesland, Business Office
  • Patty Grinsell, Student Services
  • Adam Heinitz Admission
  • Gene Klein, Buildings and Grounds
  • Mary Toso, Development
  • Jaci Vande Kamp, Campus Safety


  • Kathy Castle, Madsen Center Division Office
  • Kathleen Christensen, Library,
  • Dr. Scott Fish, Modern Foreign Languages
  • Joy Griesse, Performing and Visual Arts
  • Dale Iverson, Buildings and Grounds
  • Belinda Kaffar, Education
  • Gene Lambert, Buildings and Grounds
  • Dr. Reynold Nesiba, Economics
  • John Peters, Performing and Visual Arts
  • Bob Preloger, Marketing & Communications
  • Carol Spillum, Business Office
  • Dr. Dan Swets, Computer Science


  • Jon Eng, Athletic Development
  • Dr. Marcia Entwistle, Business Administration
  • Dr. Ann Pederson, Religion/Philosophy/Classics
  • Dr. Tim Sorenson, Mathematics
  • Cheryl Swanson, Information Technology Services
  • Dr. Richard Swanson, Religion/Philosophy/Classics


  • Ron Andersh, Natural Sciences
  • Dr. Jim Bies, Student Services
  • Susan Bies, Academic Support Services
  • Marsha Brooks, Admission
  • Deb Hagemeier, Library
  • Dr. Steve Shum, Computer Science
  • Jay Smith, Mathematics


  • Dr. Richard Bowman, Religion/Philosophy/Classics
  • Cheryl Holzapfel, Natural Science Division
  • Otto Schneider, Central Services


  • Dr. Michael Nedelsky, Psychology
  • Dr. Margot Nelson, Nursing
  • Gerrie Sneller, Business Office


  • Sharon Neish, Registrar’s Office


Kelly Sprecher
Director of Communications & Media Relations