Ceremony to Open New Academic Year

Augustana will mark the beginning of the 2011-2012 academic year during its Opening Convocation at 2 p.m. on Wednesday, Sept. 7, at the Elmen Center.

In advance of the opening bell, Augustana officials are optimistic about the state of the College following a summer of record-setting undergraduate research; its largest-ever incoming class of international students; and recent praise from Forbes, which ranked Augustana No. 212 among undergraduate universities nationwide for quality of teaching, career prospects, graduation rates and student indebtedness.

“At Augustana, we often use the phrase ‘Go Viking.’ It speaks to how our students consistently go beyond the expected in order to do something more, something significant. When students choose to "Go Viking," they commit to explore, discover, create and pursue bold concepts and important endeavors today in order to make tomorrow even better,” said Rob Oliver, president.

“In today’s still-challenged economy, we’re humbled to see that students and families continue to believe in the world-class liberal arts education Augustana’s renowned professors provide. As we welcome members of the class of 2015, along with our returning students, we’re honored they chose us. And, as fellow citizens, we’re grateful and excited they made the decision to Go Viking.”

The ceremony will include:

  • A welcome to the College’s 530 new students.
  • Recognition of Sophomore Honors award winners Kimberly Homan of Marshall, Minn.; Hannah Kuelbs of Clements, Minn.; Brennan Olson of Luck, Wis.; and Erika Zetterlund of St. Cloud, Minn. Sophomore Honors recognize students who have demonstrated outstanding achievement at an early stage of their college career. These honors are conferred on four representatives of the preceding sophomore class, who have been selected by the faculty on the basis of scholarship, character, personal traits, and other evidence of achievement.
  • A keynote address, “There and Back Again,” by Dr. Jetty Duffy-Matzner, associate professor of Chemistry.
  • A message from President Rob Oliver.


Kelly Sprecher
Director of Communications & Media Relations