Augustana Students Named Goldwater Scholars

Augustana students Ashley Schmidt (Mitchell, S.D.) and Erika Zetterlund (St. Cloud, Minn.) are among 282 college students nationwide to receive the prestigious Goldwater Scholarship for the 2012-2013 academic year, an award for accomplished college students who intend to pursue careers in science, mathematics and engineering. In addition, Kristen Luepke (Courtland, Minn.) received an honorable mention by the Goldwater committee.

Goldwater Scholars were selected on the basis of academic merit from a field of 1,123 mathematics, science, and engineering students who were nominated by the faculties of colleges and universities nationwide. The scholarships will cover the cost of tuition, fees, books, and room and board up to a maximum of $7,500 per year.

  • Schmidt, a junior biology major, hopes to achieve her Ph.D. in Evolutionary Biology after Augustana. Her goal is to one day teach biological science courses at a liberal arts college while conducting research. Her faculty mentors are Dr. Dan Howard and Dr. Carrie Hall.
  • Zetterlund, a junior physics and religion major, hopes to achieve her Ph.D. in Physics after Augustana. Her goal is to one day conduct research in particle physics, specifically in the field of dark matter. Her faculty mentor is Dr. Drew Alton.
  • Luepke, a junior biochemistry major, hopes to achieve her Ph.D. in Molecular Physiology, Biophysics, or a related field. Her goal is to conduct research in biomedical science. Her faculty mentor is Dr. Barrett Eichler.

Since 1989, 16 Augustana students have received Goldwater Scholarships. The Goldwater Foundation is a federally endowed agency established in 1986. The Scholarship Program honoring Senator Barry M. Goldwater was designed to foster and encourage outstanding students to pursue careers in the fields of mathematics, the natural sciences, and engineering. The Goldwater Scholarship is the premier undergraduate award of its type in these fields.

Since its first award in 1989, the Foundation has bestowed more than 6,200 scholarships worth approximately 39 million dollars. The Trustees plan to award about three hundred scholarships for the 2013-2014 academic year.