Work by Public Relations Students Honored

Augustana’s Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) won a Minnesota Public Relations Society of America (MNPRSA) Student Classics Award at the 34th Annual MNPRSA Classics Award Banquet and Ceremony held recently in Minneapolis.

Augustana has submitted entries seven times over the past six years and has made the finals all seven times. This year marked Augustana's fifth win.

Senior Hannah Kuelbs, a native of Clements, Minn., won in the category of "Special Purpose Publications." Her work on the JazzFest Neighborhood News brochure was designed to be mailed to members of Sioux Falls affected by the large crowds at this event. This special purpose publication provided citizens with information about the event and numbers to call.

Also making the finals were seniors Sawyer Vanden Heuvel (Rock Rapids, Iowa), Lindsay Plathe (Bellingham, Minn.) and Jennifer Johnson (Hurley, S.D.) for their public relations work for Sioux Falls-based Coffea Roasteria. The group's campaign focused on creating and promoting culture-infused coffee.

The Classics Awards honor the work of students and professionals in the field of public relations. Students compete against their counterparts from schools across the Upper Midwest.

“Year after year, our students amaze me with their creativity, professionalism and dedication. These individuals are exceptional ambassadors for Augustana College and, I simply couldn't be more proud,” said Dr. Michael Nitz, associate professor of communications studies and Augustana's PRSSA Chapter advisor.

Minnesota PRSA is the tenth-largest chapter of the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA), the world’s largest organization for public relations professionals with nearly 32,000 professional and student members. PRSA is organized into more than 110 chapters nationwide, including 19 professional interest sections and affinity groups. Minnesota PRSA is comprised of more than 350 members who represent business and industry, counseling firms, independent practitioners, military, government, associations, hospitals, schools, professional services firms and nonprofit organizations.

Sponsored by the Minnesota chapter of PRSA, this year’s Minnesota PRSA Classics Awards honored the best in the public relations field. Since 1978, the Minnesota PRSA Classics Awards have recognized hundreds of organizations for excellence in public relations. The Classics are presented annually to public relations practitioners who, in the judgment of their peers, have successfully addressed a communications challenge with exemplary professional skill, creativity and resourcefulness.

Pictured above, from left to right: Augustana students Sawyer Vanden Heuvel, Jennifer Johnson, Lindsay Plathe and Hannah Kuelbs.