Faculty Honored at Commencement

Dr. John Pennington, Dr. David O'Hara and Dr. Julie Ashworth received faculty awards during Augustana's commencement ceremony. The awards included a faculty excellence endowment, research fellowship, and faculty excellence award.

Former Social Science Division Chair dies at age 58

Dr. James Meader, 58, former Chair of the Social Science Division at Augustana College, died May 24, 2009, at his home in Sioux Falls. A memorial service was held on Thursday, May 28, in the Chapel of Reconciliation.

Brandon Senior is Augustana Commencement Speaker

Sara Eiesland is the senior speaker for Augustana’s 149th Commencement Service on Sunday, May 24, at the Sioux Falls Arena. Eiesland, majoring in English and Journalism with a minor in Philosophy, will talk on “Voice and Responsibility.”

Eye on Keloland Features Alumna

Nancy Erickson '84 is Secretary of the U.S. Senate in Washington, D.C. Day to day, Erickson's job is more like managing a major corporation. She heads up 26 departments containing 240 federal employees.

Bailey Morris Wins Covenant Award for Service

Morris is described as having a charismatic personality and brings energy to every situation she is in. One of her faculty shares, “She is one of the most gifted, exemplary students I have had the pleasure of working with.”

German and French Honor Societies Induct New Members

Delta Phi Alpha, the national honor society for students of German, welcomed six new members earlier this month. Seven Augustana students were inducted into Pi Delta Phi, the National French Honor Society.

Augustana Students Receive Year-End Honors

These Augustana students received awards related to their field of study, including the South Dakota Council for Exceptional Children Award, Outstanding Senior in French Award, and the Kaplan-Schweser CPA Review Award.