Jeff Holm Named 2013 Augie Pride Award Recipient

Associate Athletic Director Jeff Holm received the "Augie Pride" award at the Augustana Service Awards Presentation and Celebration on Wednesday afternoon.

The “Augie Pride” award recognizes exceptional service to the College. Since 1999, 18 “Augie Pride” awards have been presented.

Holm has a long history with Augustana. He was named assistant athletic director in 2006 and elevated to associate athletic director in 2010. Prior to administrative roles, Holm served as head coach of the Viking baseball team from 2001 to 2006. He was named the North Central Conference Coach of the Year in 2003 after his squad won the conference championship.

A native of Brookings, S.D., Holm has more than a decade of experience in intercollegiate athletics – in both coaching and administration.

He holds a bachelor's degree from Minnesota State University and earned his master's degree in sport pedagogy from South Dakota State University.  

Holm and wife, Amy, are parents to sons J.D. and Charlie.

The event also honored members of the Augustana community who will retire after this academic year:

  • Kay Dahlquist (Advancement)
  • Nancy Dickinson (English/Journalism)
  • Dr. Karen Fritz (Nursing)
  • Carol LaCroix (Chapel)
  • Dr. Glenda Sehested (Sociology)
  • Julie Simko (Education)

Milestone service awards were also presented:

10 Years of Service:

  • Tom Billeter (Athletics)
  • Raybecca Fiala (Education)
  • Dr. Patrick Hicks (English/Journalism)
  • Dr. Mary Isaacson (Nursing)
  • Jane Schroeder (Business Office)
  • John Tomkins (Music)
  • Doug Townsend (Buildings and Grounds)

15 Years of Service:

  • Dr. Julie Ashworth (Education)
  • Kay Dahlquist (Advancement)
  • Bob Hall (Athletics)
  • David Kahl (Buildings and Grounds)
  • Dr. Sheryl Feinstein (Education)
  • Dr. Jeffrey Miller (English/Journalism)
  • Linda Palmer (Archeology)
  • Juli Peterson (Athletics)
  • Jason Reitmeier (Athletics)
  • Dr. David Sorenson (Economics)
  • Dr. Bill Swart (Sociology)
  • Ann Vogelmann (Biology)
  • Dr. Mike Wanous (Academic Affairs)

20 Years of Service:

  • Donn Grinager (International Programs)
  • Tom Shields (Art)
  • Karren Melik-Stepanov (Music)
  • Dr. Sherry Barkley (HPER)
  • Brian Gerry (Athletics)

25 Years of Service:

  • Dr. Susan Schrader (Sociology)
  • Laine Halverson (Financial Aid)
  • Rob Joyce (Music)
  • Judy Knadel (Campus Learning Center)
  • Dr. Stephan Lhotzky (Modern Foreign Languages)
  • Mary Jane Minnig (Social Science Division)
  • Vern Thompson (Buildings and Grounds)

30 Years of Service:

  • Ed Lueck (Archeology)
  • Lynette Rossum (Archeology)
  • Marlys Vant Hul (Gilbert Science Division)
  • Gerry Punt (Art)

35 Years of Service:

  • Nancy Dickinson (English/Journalism)
  • Brad Heegel (Advancement)

45 Years of Service:
Glenn Wika (Information Technology)

Photo Above: President Rob Oliver presents Jeff Holm with the Augie Pride award.