Seven Students Inducted into History Honor Society

Seven Augustana students were recently inducted into Phi Alpha Theta, the American honor society for undergraduate and graduate students and professors of history. The society has more than 350,000 members, with about 9,500 new members joining each year through 860 local chapters.

Those inducted were:

  • Kirsten Nyberg, Sioux Falls
  • Ryan Sutton, Flandreau, S.D.
  • Sara Wildermuth, Sioux Falls
  • Becky Molenaar, Willmar, Minn.
  • Joe Meader, Sioux Falls
  • Colton Johnson, Slayton, Minn.
  • Lawrence Penrod, Sioux Falls

The mission of Phi Alpha Theta is to promote the study of history through the encouragement of research, good teaching, publication and the exchange of learning and ideas among historians. The society seeks to bring students and teachers together for intellectual and social exchanges, which promote and assist historical research and publication.

Seeley Presents Paper

In other history news, senior history major Michael Seeley, a native of Spencer, Iowa, recently presented his paper, "The Fraternal Ulcer: The Intentional Malady of Crowning Joseph Bonaparte in Spain" at the Phi Alpha Theta conference at the University of South Dakota in Vermillion.