Augustana Announces $2.5 Million Gift for Scholarships

An estate gift of $2.5 million from alumnus Dick Niebuhr, class of 1966, a native of Huron, S.D., and longtime resident of Aberdeen, S.D., will be used to support scholarships for Augustana’s top incoming students beginning in the 2014-15 academic year.

Augustana Trustee Kirk Dean Dies at 65

The Augustana community is mourning the loss of Kirk Dean, a member of the Board of Trustees. Dean died on Saturday, May 4, at his home in Fargo, N.D. He was 65. A memorial service is planned for Sunday, June 2, at Atonement Lutheran Church in Fargo.

Svenningsen Named 2012-13 Faculty Recognition Award Recipient

Dr. Russell Svenningsen, assistant professor of music and conductor of the Collegiate Chorale, is the recipient of the Augustana Student Association (ASA) 2012-2013 Faculty Recognition Award. The award recognizes outstanding teaching and contributions to the Augustana community by a faculty member.

Tupper Named to National Campus Safety Post

Rick Tupper, Augustana's director of campus safety, has been named one of three national Directors-at-Large for the International Association of Campus Law Enforcement Administrators (IACLEA). His three-year term will begin in June.

Art Professor Selected for National Conference

Dr. Lindsay Twa, assistant professor of Art and director of the Eide/Dalrymple Gallery, is one of a select group of faculty members nationwide chosen by the Council of Independent Colleges (CIC) to participate in a special, week-long seminar on teaching European art in context.

College Community Mourns the Loss of Dr. Glenda Sehested

Dr. Glenda Sehested, a longtime faculty member of the Sociology department, passed away today following a battle with advanced pancreatic cancer. A memorial service is set for 3:30 p.m. on Friday, May 3, in Augustana's Chapel of Reconciliation.

Jeff Holm Named 2013 Augie Pride Award Recipient

Associate Athletic Director Jeff Holm received the "Augie Pride" award at the Augustana Service Awards Presentation and Celebration on Wednesday. The event also honored members of the Augustana community who are retiring and those who have achieved milestone service anniversaries.

Seven Students Inducted into History Honor Society

Seven Augustana students were recently inducted into Phi Alpha Theta, the national history honor society dedicated to promoting the study of history through research, teaching, publication and the exchange of learning and ideas among historians.

Following Boston Bombings, Dozens "Run for Joy"

Following last week's bombings at the Boston Marathon, more than 70 runners and walkers participated in today's "Joy Run," an event organized by Augustana's Dr. David O'Hara to promote the idea that "because we exist, we should not forget to live." Watch video from KSFY-TV reporter Mark Roper.