Athletics Announces 2018 Hall of Fame Inductees

Augustana University announces 2017 Athletic Hall of Fame inductees

Augustana University Athletics will induct six individuals into the 2018 Augustana Athletics Hall of Fame this fall during Viking Days. The 2018 inductees will be honored at the Hall of Fame banquet, set for Friday, Oct. 19, at the Holiday Inn City Centre. The event begins with the social hour at 5:30 p.m., followed by dinner served at 6:30 p.m. For tickets to the Augustana Athletics Hall of Fame Banquet, please register online or call 605.274.5420.

Kevin Kaesviharn '98, Owen Hoegh '04, Jen Buyske '07, Katie Krauth '06, Monica Harden '98 and John Krolikowski '80 represent the 2018 Augustana University Athletics Hall of Fame class.

Kaesviharn is a former Cincinnati Bengals defensive back; Hoegh owns the school baseball record for most innings pitched; Buyske is a national track and field champion; Krauth was a standout in softball and basketball; Harden is a record-setting volleyball player; and Krolikowski, who played a key role along the defensive line for Viking football in the late 1970s.

  • Kaesviharn '98 appeared in 87 games with the Bengals. He logged 363 tackles, 15 interceptions and six sacks. His professional career included stints with the Iowa Barnstormers, San Francisco Demons, Green Bay Packers, New Orleans Saints, Carolina Panthers, and Tennessee Titans. At Augustana, he was an All-North Central Conference choice in 1997 and was selected to play in the 1997 Cactus Bowl.
  • Hoegh '04 was a tireless worker for the Vikings, posting a career record 236 innings pitched.  He faced a career high 1,039 batters and is third on the Vikings' list for most wins with 20. He was named to the 2004 All-North Central Conference team and the 2004 Academic All-NCC team.
  • Buyske '07 claimed the javelin title on her final throw at the 2005 NCAA Division ll outdoor track and field championships in Abilene, Texas. Her winning mark of 156-09 is a school record and won the first national title by an Augustana track and field athlete since 1998. She holds the Howard Wood Dakota Relays women's javelin record and is a North Central Conference champion.
  • Krauth '06 was an All-North Central Conference selection in basketball (2003-04 and 2004-05) and softball (2005, 2006). She earned the NCC's most outstanding softball player award in 2005 and 2006. She is 14th on the women's basketball career scoring list with 1,335 points. A gifted pitcher, her earned-run mark of 1.08 is the third best in Viking softball history.
  • Harden '98 holds the school single-season volleyball assists record (1,755). In three seasons with Harden at setter the Vikings won 82 matches. She set a single-match record for kill assists with 80 against No. 4-ranked Kearney in 1996. Harden was selected to the All-North Central Conference team in 1996 and 1997.
  • Krolikowski '80 was selected to the All-North Central Conference football team in 1979. A 6-foot-4, 240-pound tackle from Omaha, Nebraska, he lettered three years with the Vikings. The 1977 team tied for runner-up honors in the NCC and posted an overall record of 7-4. Two of the Vikings' losses were by a combined five points.

Augustana is also recognizing three alums who have made significant contributions to Viking athletics. They are Gene Smith '76, Sioux Falls, Lefty Olson Award; Jen Walter '86, Duluth, Minn., Ole Odney Award; and Paul Harmel '72, Medina, Minn., Milt and Clara Harvey Award.

  • The Lefty Olson Award, renamed in 1993, honors L.A. "Lefty" Olson, who taught and coached at Augustana from 1931-1968. It recognizes individuals for contributions of time, service, and financial support given to Augustana athletics.
  • The Ole Odney Award was formerly known as the Alumni Coach of the Year Award. It was renamed in 1993 in honor of long-time coach and HPER teacher (1948-1966) Ole Odney.
  • The Milt and Clara Harvey Award was presented in 1993 for the first time. Recipients are cited for outstanding contributions of time, service, and financial support to Augustana Athletics. Milt and Clara Harvey were Augustana employees and generous supporters. Clara died at age 96, and Milt at age 99.

The team award for 2018 goes to the 1977 football squad. The team posted an overall record of 7-4, and secured a tie for second place in the North Central Conference.