Eighteen Named Sophomore Honors Recipients

Augustana announced that 18 rising juniors have been selected to receive the prestigious Sophomore Honors Award.

The Sophomore Honors Award recognizes representatives of the preceding sophomore class who have demonstrated outstanding achievement at an early stage of their college career. Sophomore Honors are awarded to students who have earned a GPA of 3.9 or higher by the end of their sophomore year and are on their way to achieving summa cum laude status. Sophomore Honors award winners are:

  • Matthew Bell, Sioux Falls, South Dakota
  • Claire Buendorf, Albert Lea, Minnesota
  • Charissa Etrheim, Brandon, South Dakota
  • Sarah Kocher, Lincoln, Nebraska
  • Megan Thacker, Omaha, Nebraska
  • Christian Einertson, Marietta, Georgia
  • Rebecca Worden, Sioux Falls, South Dakota
  • Bereket Mamo, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
  • Jennifer Pederson, Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
  • Christopher Weniger, Sioux Falls, South Dakota
  • Matthew Housiaux, Brookings, South Dakota
  • Larissa Neugebauer, Mitchell, South Dakota
  • Megan Petersen, Hubbard, Nebraska
  • Emily Fitterer, Mankato, Minnesota
  • Chandler Nielsen, Sioux Falls, South Dakota
  • Alyssa Hibbing, Sibley, Iowa
  • Elliot Blue, Sioux Falls, South Dakota
  • Tori Wilson, Wayzata, Minnesota

During Opening Convocation this fall, these 18 students will be recognized for their hard work and dedication needed to attain this level of academic excellence. Opening Convocation, which marks the beginning of Augustana's 2014-15 academic year, is set for 10 a.m. on Wednesday, Sept. 3, at Our Savior's Lutheran Church.