Hanson, Zetterlund Named Recipients of Covenant Award for Excellence

Seniors Coral Hanson and Erika Zetterlund were recognized for their exemplary commitment to Augustana’s core value of Excellence during Wednesday’s Verdier 2013 ceremony, part of a week-long celebration of the five values that serve as the foundation for Augustana’s academic and student life programs.

“At Augustana, we work to inspire our students to pursue excellence in and outside the classroom. By doing so, we hope and pray that we are preparing them for a lifetime pursuit of excellence – in their personal lives, in their careers and as global citizens,” said Dr. Jim Bies, Dean of Students for Augustana. “We celebrate Coral and Erika on this honor and we congratulate each of the students who were nominated for their commitment to living out our value of Excellence.”

A significant tradition at Augustana, the Covenant Awards are named in honor of each of the College’s five core values: Christian, Liberal Arts, Excellence, Community and Service.

Erika Zetterlund (left)
Coral Hanson

A committee of faculty and staff review nominations from the entire campus community.

Nominees for the Covenant Award for Excellence are those who commit themselves to high virtuous and ethical standards; personal integrity; human excellence; self-discipline; and self-improvement. These nominees are known for bringing out excellence in others. Their commitment to excellence has shaped their plans for the future. 

In receiving this award, Hanson, a member of the Pep Band, the Augustana Band, NSO, UBG and a student ambassador, is described by her nominators as someone who “has a demonstrated desire to learn; an individual who ‘owns’ her learning.”

Zetterlund is described by her nominators as someone who “is always questioning; a well-rounded individual who believes the process of learning is more important than the final results.”

Hanson is a Communications Disorders major from Andover, Minn. She is the daughter of Walter Hobot and Ann Hanson-Hobot.

Zetterlund is a Physics, Religion and Mathematics major from St. Cloud, Minn. She is the daughter of Allen and Judith Zetterlund.

Verdier 2013 continues throughout the week. Augustana’s core values will be celebrated each day and student Covenant Award nominees will be recognized. Upcoming Verdier events include:

  • Thursday, March 21: Embracing Community
    Join fellow students and faculty/staff for Viking cookies before the presentation of the 2013 Covenant Award for Community  at 10 a.m. in the Siverson Lounge.
  • Friday, March 22: Lifting up our dedication to Service
    Pledge to participate in the April 20 “meal packing day” to benefit Kids Against Hunger. The 2013 Covenant Award for  Service will be presented before the Rendezvous at 3 p.m. in the Back Alley.

nominees for the 2013 covenant award for excellence

Nominees for the 2013 Covenant Award for Excellence

BACK ROW: Alexandra Hjerpe, Hannah Kuelbs, Thad Titze, Anne Pfeifle, Scott Hofer,
Michael Tveter,  Kim Homan, Carl Hjelmen.
FRONT ROW: Morgan McAlpin, Erika Zetterlund, Coral Hanson, Evan Livermore.    
Not pictured: Collin Block, Emily Eichele, Bailey Jackson and Katelynn Kenney.