Augustana Society of Physics Student Chapter Recognized

The Augustana College Society of Physics Student Chapter has been recognized as an “Outstanding Chapter” by the national Society of Physics Students (SPS).

According to the SPS, Outstanding Chapters are determined each academic year following a careful review of criteria, including: 

  • The chapter's involvement in local, zone and national SPS meetings and other professional meetings
  • Participation in SPS programs
  • Outreach efforts to the grades K-12 or the general public
  • Participation in community service
  • Contributions to student recruitment and retention
  • Participation in social events, and
  • Interactions with the department's alumni

Augustana is included in SPS zone 11. Other institutions honored in zone 11 include Gustavus Adolphus College, the University of Minnesota — Twin Cities, and Coe College.

Dr. Drew Alton, associate professor of physics, serves as faculty sponsor for the Augustana chapter and Audrey Burkart, a junior from Monument, Colo., serves as associate zone councilor for region 11.  

Media Inquiries: Contact Jill Wilson, public relations and communications strategist.

Share this Page