Upcoming Events

Frequent and varied events — such as lectures, art shows and workshops — play an active role in the continuing vitality and momentum of the Center for Western Studies.

Upcoming 2020-2021 Events
 

Date Event Title Place Time
Tuesday, August 18 - Friday, October 23 "19," a gallery exhibition featuring women artists in honor of the centennial of the 19th Amendment CWS Fantle Building at 2121 S. Summit Ave. Monday - Friday: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Monday, November 2 - Friday, February 5, 2021 "Artists of the Plains: 40th Anniversary Exhibit," a gallery exhibition CWS Fantle Building at 2121 S. Summit Ave. Monday - Friday: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Friday-Sunday, November 6-8 40th Annual Artists of the Plains Art Show & Sale Hilton Garden Inn, Downtown Sioux Falls, SD Friday: 5 - 9 p.m.;
Saturday: 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. - 3 p.m.
Friday-Saturday, April 23-24, 2021 53rd Dakota Conference: "Farming, Ranching, and Sustainability in the Northern Plains" CWS Fantle Building at 2121 S. Summit Ave. TBD

 

Past 2019-2020 Events
 

Date Event Title Place Time
Monday, June 3 - Friday, September 6 "Seven Generations: Mending the Hoop," a gallery exhibition featuring the work of Carolyne Landon CWS Fantle Building at 2121 S. Summit Ave. Monday - Friday: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.;
First Saturday of the month: 10 a.m. - 2 p.m.
Wednesday, July 24 Reception for "Seven Generations: Mending the Hoop," a gallery exhibition featuring the work of Carolyne Landon CWS Fantle Building at 2121 S. Summit Ave. 6-8 p.m.
Friday-Saturday, July 26-27 Augustana Academy Days Reunion: Come see a special exhibit of Augustana Academy memorabilia at the Center for Western Studies CWS Fantle Building at 2121 S. Summit Ave. Friday: 1 - 5 p.m.; Saturday: 10 a.m. - 2 p.m.
Monday, September 16 - Friday, January 10, 2020 "Sioux Falls In Color: Artwork by Rodger Ellingson," a gallery exhibition CWS Fantle Building at 2121 S. Summit Ave. Monday - Friday: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Wednesday, September 18 Scan Day @ CWS with visiting South Dakota State Library staff CWS Fantle Building at 2121 S. Summit Ave. 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Thursday, September 19 Book reflection and signing with former South Dakota state senator Stanford Adelstein CWS Fantle Building at 2121 S. Summit Ave. 4:30 p.m.
Wednesday, October 23 Reception for "Sioux Falls In Color: Artwork by Rodger Ellingson" a gallery exhibition CWS Fantle Building at 2121 S. Summit Ave. 5:30-7:30 p.m.
Monday, January 27 - Saturday, April 25 "The Art of Generosity: CWS Honors Its Patrons," a gallery exhibition featuring artwork from members' private collections purchased through CWS programming CWS Fantle Building at 2121 S. Summit Ave. Monday - Friday: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
POSTPONED Boe Forum on Public Affairs with Robert C. Green and Jamie Metzl Elmen Center at 2505 S. Grange Ave.  
CANCELED 52nd Dakota Conference: "The Roaring Twenties... Again?" CWS Fantle Building at 2121 S. Summit Ave. Friday: 8:00 a.m. - 7:30 p.m.;
Saturday: 7:30 a.m. - 2:45 p.m.
Monday, July 6 - Friday, August 7 "Blue Cloud Reflections," a gallery exhibition featuring the historical photography of Ambrose Mattingly and other select images from the Blue Cloud Abbey American Indian Collection CWS Fantle Building at 2121 S. Summit Ave. Monday - Friday: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.