Student Internship Support at CWS

Unfunded internships, principally in archives/collections, at the Center for Western Studies began in the 1980s. These were replaced by funded internships beginning in 1991, when a series of grants from the Sheldon F. Reese Foundation made compensation possible. Mrs. Margaret H. Reese continued the program for several years. During this time, interns were known as Reese Interns.

Additional internship funding has been received from the following:

  • David and Sandra Solberg
  • Drs. Tom and Elaine McIntosh
  • National Society Daughters of the American Revolution-Mary Chilton DAR Foundation
  • Midco Media Foundation
  • Betty and Charley Gutch

Permanent support for internships is provided through these CWS-designated endowments at the Sioux Falls Area Community Foundation:

  • Julius A. and Dorothy L. Jacobsen
  • Doris Louise Eggers Huseboe

Additional permanent support is provided through these CWS-designated endowments at Augustana University:

  • Dr. Richard Solberg (funded by Gordon and Trudy Iseminger)
  • Mildred White
  • Ada May Yeager
  • Sven G. and Marion Froiland
  • Lynwood E. Oyos
  • Carol Rae Hansen, Andrew Gilmour, and Grace Hansen-Gilmour

The Julius and Dorothy Jacobsen and Ada May Yeager endowments provide funding for staff administration of internships. Since CWS is responsible for generating salary and benefit support for its staff, funding for internships should also, ideally, provide some support for intern supervision. A $50,000 endowment, for example, will generate $2,500 in annual distributions: $2,000 for the intern and $500 toward staff supervision.